Stone/Bruery/Elysian La Citrueille Celeste de Citracado

Wow, is that a mouthful. Anyway, as one might have guessed, this is yet another collaboration beer under Stone’s banner, this time with the Bruery and Elysian. At this point, who HASN’T Stone collaborated with – that is the question!

These Stone collaborations often like to fly the freak flag with some funky ingredients, and “LCCdC” seems like no exception. We are looking at a dark brown beer, 5% ABV. And get this…..it’s brewed with:

-pumpkin
-yams
-toasted fenugreek
-lemon verbena
-birch bark

It is, as they say, a “veritable cornucopia.” The bottle explicitly tells me to “drink fresh, do not age,” so I’m doing just that.

Definitely darker than I expected. It looks, and smells, somewhat roasty. In fact, in the nose, I get the typical American Porter aromas of baking chocolate and dark-roast coffee.

These Stone collaborations often become an exercise in “can the Miami Malt Bomb pick out all these exotic ingredients?” In this case, I have to say that I can’t. I taste no pumpkin, no yams….nay on the toasted fenugreek and birch bark as well. I do get some lemon zest, as well as further citric hop bitterness and roasted character.

You know what this tastes like to me? A hoppy porter, or even a Black IPA. Tasty, but in my opinion not overly unique. I think the hops and lemon verbena flavors, both very typical flavor attributes of craft beer, are overpowering the more exotic ingredients. I think I’d like to taste the hops dialed down several notches – this would allow more flavor from the oddball adjuncts to emerge.

Go ahead and try it if you see it, but I wouldn’t expect a New Taste Sensation. The reviews on this one were mixed, but I fall squarely in the middle, which disappoints me. It’s fun to talk about bold, crazy polarizing flavors, and I’m just not noting much of that.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

