Brasserie Dieu Du Ciel! Rosee d’Hibiscus

Though most known for its coffee stout “Peche Mortel,” Canadian brewery Dieu Du Ciel! has a fair range of beers, most of which we don’t get here, but we are starting to see more of its beers in South Florida. One of those is the Rosee d’Hibiscus, generally a Belgian-style wheat beer brewed with “spices” and most notably, hibiscus flowers. At 5% ABV, I have a feeling this is the kind of beer I’m going to love for summertime drinking. Let’s give it a look:

 

As you can see, it’s red, about as red as a raspberry lambic. Thin layer of coarse-looking foam. As usual, Dieu Du Ciel! has outdone itself with beer labels – if you ask me, better-looking art than some of the stuff I see at Art Basel. This one is highly floral in the nose, with a little of that sourdough/wheat aroma you expect with Belgian wheat beers.

If you were ever curious as to what hibiscus flowers taste like, this is it. There’s a light tart and vague “tropical fruit” character, along with a certain pithy bitterness from the flowers. Sweetness is hinted at but never fully arrives on the palate; kind of an off-dry. The easy-going wheat backbone is crisp and lets this go down breezily. Floral aftertaste lingers.

This is so easy to drink, it has been difficult to keep enough of it in front of me to blog about. It’s perfect refreshing summer drinking – I see most people polishing off this 12 ounce bottle in 5-10 minutes. I daresay one could make a session out of it, although at $5-6 per, tossing back 4 of these will run over $20, much higher if found at a bar.

I wouldn’t bother pairing it with food, as this is pure summer refreshment, but I suppose it could work with a fruit salad. I want to go to a BBQ where there’s a public cooler stocked with this, that’d be nice…..

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Brasserie Dieu Du Ciel! Rosee d’Hibiscus

  1. Rob says:

    Awesome. I haven’t seen this one. I love your idea of a party cooler stocked with this, but I need better and richer friends! Gonna ask for this next trip to the liquor store.

  2. Yeah, give this one a try – I’ll be interested to see what you think about it. Last month or so I’m seeing all these Dieu Du Ciel! beers we never used to get before. I’m not complaining!

  3. Rob says:

    Shelton Brothers started sending more stuff down here to South Florida. Notably, Dieu du Ciel, Mikkeller, and Jolly Pumpkin. More will likely come, too. Had the beer guy from Total Wine over for a growler last night–>I’m not normally this knowledgeable! haha

  4. WineGoddess1 says:

    Beautiful description of this lovely beer. I know you said it is off-dry but may be to fruity for my palate 🙂

  5. Jax says:

    It descriptions of beers like this that make me sad to be GF. 😦

Leave a Reply

