Grand Teton XX Mountainberry Double Wheat

Here’s a non-local oddball, a beer from Idaho. This is an anniversary beer from Grand Teton, and according to Beer Advocate, it was a one-shot deal and is no longer brewed. Classified per that site as an American Dark Wheat Ale, this is, in essence, a relatively strong fruit beer at 7.6% ABV, brewed with marionberries, huckleberries and blueberries. I’m a bit of a berry fanatic, so this bottle caught my eye, even though I don’t remember where I purchased it.

I don’t see a lot of foam, but there’s a soft-looking carbonation I sometimes see in bigger beers. Color is a sort of reddish-orange. The berries jump out of the glass – I’m not going to lie and claim I can separate the huckleberry aroma from the marionberry from the blueberry; it’s just a jammy berry aroma. The closest comparison I can draw is that it brings to mind the berry jam nose one might find in a Merlot.

This is not the typical fruit beer, which is probably why I like it. It has a huge wheat backbone and proffers some alcohol warmth – I might be inclined to call this a wheatwine. The berries float along the surface, contributing very minor sweetness – in fact I think the sweetness I’m getting is more a function of the wheat than the fruit. The fruit character is that of tart berries with most of the fructose fermented out.

I could see this going along with a Thanksgiving dinner….I don’t know, I’m just thinking there might be some synergy with the berries here and a spicy-tart cranberry sauce. I think. I’ll never find out, and neither will you. Oh well.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grand Teton XX Mountainberry Double Wheat

  1. WineGoddess1 says:

    I know this will sound crazy for such a beer guru but I am not one so here it goes: What is the difference between a hoppy or weat beer? Simply taste…??? I mean why does someone like me prefer hops?

  2. I don’t know why you are such a hophead. “Brewjas” notwithstanding, many women seem to not like the intense flavors of hops. But you do, and not only that you seem to like big-ass hoppy beers that I’d never have imagined you liking. I was going to say that maybe with your vast experience drinking bold, full-bodied wines and eating rich, flavorful foods, hop bombs are just a natural extension of that. But if that was a valid general rule, you’d also like imperial stouts – and I know you don’t, lol. So on that one, I’m at a loss!

    As for hoppy beers and wheat beers, you’re talking about two characteristics that aren’t always mutually exclusive. You can have wheat beers that also happen to be hoppy. Most wheat beers aren’t, but some are.

    To me, beers brewed with some proportion of wheat always have more of a “sourdough bread” taste, and they often show a slight bit more acidity – the case with the two most popular wheat styles, hefeweizens and witbiers.

Leave a Reply

