Goose Island Sofie

Sofie is an interesting, sexy woman. Bubbly, spicy and tangy with an underlying dry sense of humor, I’m not sure what to make of her. Her long, flowing blonde locks beguile me, and her banana-lemon-pinot grigio perfume jumps from her skin and draws me in for a kiss. I taste orange, white pepper, grape, and even a hint of her astringent, leathery musk.

Is she a sleek, refined Belgian Blonde, a farmhouse barnyard bombshell, or……both? I care not.

Shhh.....don't tell Matilda I'm using her glass with Sofie!

Here are some details, by the way:

6.5% ABV
Bottled on 1/29/11
80% Belgian style ale blended with 20% Belgian style ale aged in wine barrels with orange peel
Fermented at least in part with wild yeast
Wish I knew the wine barrels used, but I don’t. Sorry. Definite white wine character though.

This is a beer I would drink a lot of if it was available locally.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Goose Island Sofie

  1. Oh, I love Sofie too. I think I will ask her to come home with my friend in August when he goes to DC. I really hope Bud gets their act together soon so they will deliver this to my local Publix sooner rather than later.

  2. Have him bring back all the Women of Goose Island! Yeah, I was hoping that would be a silver lining of the A-B acquisition…..

  3. WineGoddess1 says:

    LOL, poor Matilda, shame on you. Hmm, now this beer sounds like a great date..ha ha nah, cool review sounds like a fab beer especially for summertime.:)

  4. WG, I think this is one you’d go for.

  5. Mike says:

    Where did you get the “M” chalice? I’ve been looking all over but only able to find the more generic chalice with the Goose Island emblem. Matilda is the best.

Leave a Reply

