Review: Cigar City Papaya IPA

For those who have been living under a log, Cigar City Brewing is a hot young brewery out of Tampa. This is a risk-taking brewery that swings for the fences quite a bit, with mixed results. Papaya IPA is a treatment of its regular IPA, “Jai-Alai,” with dried papaya added after fermentation.

What a pour this gives. Burnt orange body, sticky foam that leaves a ton of lacing.

I could make "papaya jokes," but I won't...

It smells sweetly floral, not explicitly papaya, but a more generic “tropical fruit” aroma. I’d probably guess passionfruit if I had to.

This is a great-tasting IPA. I get a lot of tropical fruit hop flavor without a lot of residual soapy bitterness. I believe the flavors I’m getting are more from the hops than the fruit addition – I’m not sure just how much the dried papaya contributed to this beer, but it’s an excellent beer either way. My lone criticism would be that perhaps I’d like to get a bit more actual papaya taste, but this is splitting hairs. Excellent beer. I don’t know what those geeks at Ratebeer are smoking with their 3.63!

I might add, I don’t know if I’d pair this with too much other than a passionfruit flan. Who makes a passionfruit flan? I don’t know, but I want one, and I want to pair it with this beer.

My rating:
Appearance 5.0
Aroma 4.5
Taste 4.0
Mouthfeel 4.5
Overall Impression 5.0
Total 4.4 

Beer Advocate 4.07
Ratebeer 3.63/95/96

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: Cigar City Papaya IPA

  1. WineGoddess1 says:

    Now this looks very good and yes I have been living under a log. 🙂

  2. You had it at MZ’s place – Nate brought a bottle LOL – in case you don’t remember, you liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

